My first blog - Reisverslag uit Bendigo, Australië van Robert Dietz - WaarBenJij.nu My first blog - Reisverslag uit Bendigo, Australië van Robert Dietz - WaarBenJij.nu

My first blog

Door: Robert

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Robert

17 Februari 2016 | Australië, Bendigo

Friday Februari 12th we (Elvin and I) flew to Australia to start our minor abroad.

After traveling for 27 hours we arrived in Melbourne.
Our plan was to stay in an air b&b in the west of Melbourne, we only had to take a train and a bus. Easier said than done so it seemed. I have never been outside of Europe so my idea of a big city is Barcalona or maybe London. This doesn't even come close to the metropolis that is Melbourne. After trying a few trams, none of them going the right direction, we hailed a cab. It was 22:00 at this point and we were tired.

The cab driver was really nice and halfway through the trip he realized he had forgot to turn on his meter. We gave him a tip, we were feeling generous. Mistake number one as we later learned tipping isn't common practice in Australia.

The next day we decided to go into Melbourne and check out the city. Lucky for us there was a festival going on near the shore with music and a lot of food, food trucks mainly.
I learned the hard way that the 'hole' in the ozon layer shouldn't be taken lightly as I was sunburned pretty badly. Even though we only walked around for maybe 2-3 hours. Shit.

Skipping forward to yesteday (16th). We have arrived in Bendigo, we're going to check out student rooms for our definite stay. The rooms looked really good and we decided to take them, the owner even offered to pick up our stuff at the hostel and drop us off at the Uni. Score!

Later that afternoon we met two of our teachers (one of which was walking around the school barefoot) he told us about which subjects we're going to take. It involves a lot of ourdoor activities like rock climbing, which isn't all too bad.

So, now I'm typing this in my own room. My home for the coming months, quite unreal really. I woke up to the sound of birds I've only heard in Zoos or seen on Discovery Channel. They're fucking green and red!

Slowly I'm realizing this isn't a vacation but it's for 4 months, and it's exciting and a bit scary as well.
Oh by the way, I have not seen a kangaroo, yet.

  • 29 Maart 2016 - 14:10

    Jan Linders:

    Hi Robert, of course it's a bit scary but you'll survive...enjoy! Jan

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Australië, Bendigo

Mijn eerste reis

Studeren in Australië.

Recente Reisverslagen:

11 April 2016

Easter break and the week after.

21 Maart 2016

My first trip

09 Maart 2016

Blogpost #2

17 Februari 2016

My first blog
Robert

Studeren in Australië voor 4 maanden

Actief sinds 02 Dec. 2015
Verslag gelezen: 91
Totaal aantal bezoekers 1543

Voorgaande reizen:

17 Februari 2016 - 14 Juni 2016

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: